top of page
  • Writer's pictureblackpetal82

March Horror

We have already passed the chocolate egg frenzy, and I am still consuming a lot of horror.

Book: Son of the Golden Turkey Awards: Best of the Worst of Hollywood by Michael and Harry Medved. Of course, this book is in my collection, and while it is not solely horror-centric, I still found some films to add to my weird collection. It is not just a humorous piece but is well-researched.

Film: King Kong (1933). It is not the most sophisticated story, but it is so engaging. The acting is strong, especially from Fay Wray. King Kong himself still holds up, a genuinely menacing but tragic monster, considering it is over ninety years old. The epic battle between King Kong and the dinosaurs is also spectacular. The music is a well-done masterpiece. I haven’t seen the 1970s version, but I love this better than the Peter Jackson version.

TV Series: The Movies That Made Us: Horror Edition. I love this series, but going down the horror route is perfect. It is well-researched and has some excellent interviews. Depending on whether you have seen either Never Sleep Again or Crystal Lake Memories, there may not be a lot of new information, but it is still enjoyable to watch.

Writing: I am still working on A-Z on Horror (it is a surprise to me as well), and last time, I spoke about trying to work out what to use for Q and U. However, I woke up in a cold sweat one morning and thought, “What have I picked for X?” Of course, the answer was nothing, but I have now added Xmas and other holiday seasons. It means I was writing about a New Year’s Eve-based film over Easter. I still have another New Year’s Eve one and, of course, an Xmas one.

Recent Posts

See All

February Horror.

Even with the extra day, February flew by, but it does mean more time to squeeze in more horror. Film: Yokai Monsters: 100 Monsters. This film has some fantastic monsters and great costumes in a 60s J

January Horror

We have survived the longest month of the year – January and a little bit of horror has helped. Film: The Stepfather (1987). What a great film. Terry O’Quinn is excellent as the titular stepfather. He

December Horror

Just because the last month was December, I still made the month spooky, and, of course, I hope it continues in 2024. Film: Bone TomaHawk. Nothing says Christmas more than a man torn in half like a wi

bottom of page