top of page
  • Writer's pictureblackpetal82

January Horror

We have survived the longest month of the year – January and a little bit of horror has helped.


Film: The Stepfather (1987). What a great film. Terry O’Quinn is excellent as the titular stepfather. He is perfect as a severe man who is nearly immaculate in everything he does, systematic and organised but psychotic.


Book: The Teenage Slasher Movie Book by J. A. Kerswell. It was a perfect gift I had for Christmas or my Birthday (having the two so close I can’t remember which) from my partner. As the book states, it cannot possibly cover all slasher films, but it still has good coverage of well-known and obscure films worldwide. It is a superb read, full of remarkable facts. My only complaint is that the book is filled with different coloured pages, and with my dyslexia, some were hard to read.


Writing: I am slowly working through my A-to-Z horror book. However, I had not been allocated a topic for two of the letters of the alphabet yet. U and Q. However, after a discussion with a friend over a few drinks, I have changed W is for WTF to Q is for Quirky. Some suggestions were also given for U, but I need to find films that will fall into that topic before I decide what it will be.

Recent Posts

See All

March Horror

We have already passed the chocolate egg frenzy, and I am still consuming a lot of horror. Book: Son of the Golden Turkey Awards: Best of the Worst of Hollywood by Michael and Harry Medved. Of course,

February Horror.

Even with the extra day, February flew by, but it does mean more time to squeeze in more horror. Film: Yokai Monsters: 100 Monsters. This film has some fantastic monsters and great costumes in a 60s J

December Horror

Just because the last month was December, I still made the month spooky, and, of course, I hope it continues in 2024. Film: Bone TomaHawk. Nothing says Christmas more than a man torn in half like a wi

bottom of page